frequently asked questions        
 

1. What is the Florida requirement for licensing as a life/ health insurance agent?
2. What types of pre-licensing courses are approved by the Department of Insurance?
3. Is City College’s course approved by the Department of Insurance?
4. How long will it take me to complete City College’s self-study program?
5. How does the self-study program work?
6. If I have a question, will there be someone I can talk to?
7. Which type of study program — in-class or self-study — is better for me?
8. What is the cost for the self-study program?
9. How soon can I start?
10. What is your refund policy?
11. How can I sign up for your courses?

12. RECIPROCITY
 

Now that I've completed the pre-licensing course....
13. Is there an electronic finger print location in my area?
14. How do I apply for my license?
15. What are the fees associated with my application?
16. Is there a state exam outline to help me review ?
(requires Acrobat Reader)

17. Is there a review course that will supplement my review?

Previous Page

 


 

What is the Florida requirement for licensing as a life/ health insurance agent?

To become a Florida resident life/health agent, you must:

  • be 18 years old,
  • file a completed application, fingerprint card and fees with the Department of Insurance,
  • complete an approved pre-licensing course,
  • and successfully pass a standardized licensing examination.

Top of Page

What types of pre-licensing courses are approved by the Department of Insurance?

Florida law [F.S. #626.8311, 626.7851] requires applicants to complete either a 40-hour in-class program or an approved self-study course. Both in-class and self-study programs must use the study manual approved by the Department.

Top of Page

Is City College’s course approved by the Department of Insurance?

Yes. City College has been approved to offer self-study pre-licensing courses for:

  • Life, including Annuities and Variable Contracts (2-14)

  • Health Agent (2-40)

  • Life & Health including Annuities and Variable Contracts (2-15).

City College’s Provider number is 359366.
The Department of Insurance course numbers are:
#14610 for Life and VA
#14608 for Health, and
#14609 for Life, VA and Health.

Top of Page

How long will it take me to complete City College’s self-study program?

That varies from student to student. Since City College’s Life and Health self-study program is equivalent to a 40-hour in-class program, the general answer is 40 hours for those seeking the combined Life and Health license. The Life/VA only or Health only programs should take a student approximately 20-25 hours to complete. These are approximate times — as each student works at his or her own pace. Your study time may be different.

There are 36 lessons for the combined Life and Health course, 21 lessons for the Life and Variable Annuity course, and 21 lessons for the Health only course. On average, each lesson should take about an hour to hour and a half to complete. Students may complete the lessons as quickly as they wish.

Top of Page

How does the self-study program work?

Each lesson covers a chapter in the state approved study manual. Upon completing the online reading assignment, the student is asked to complete a multiple choice online review of the material — usually 20 questions. The answers to those questions are then e-mailed to Wall Street Instructors, and are automatically graded with the results shown to the students within moments. An overall average score of 70% correct on these lessons is required to complete the course. Department rules require the program be completed within one year of enrollment. Upon completion of the last lesson, the student must complete a monitored, multiple choice final examination. We have arranged monitor sites at public libraries and community colleges throughout Florida. Upon successful completion of the final exam (70%+), the student will be certified to take the state licensing examination, once thier application is approved.

Top of Page

If I have a question, will there be someone I can talk to?

Yes. We encourage students to contact our instructors if they have questions or comments regarding the study materials. Each lesson has a comment section in which students can e-mail their questions to our instructors. All lesson reviews are electronically graded and returned to students — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Top of Page

Which type of study program — in-class or self-study — is better for me?

Both types of programs use the state-approved study manual and will cover the same topics. In-class programs work best for those who need the motivation of a fixed schedule, or feel that they may have serious difficulty in grasping the information presented in the course. Obviously, in-class programs are convenient only if the class is offered near the student.

Level of difficulty — a representative sample of text from the first chapter

Self-study programs place the responsibility of completing the course on the student — but offer the opportunity to fit the study time into their schedule at their convenience. Self-study programs work best for self-motivated students who have difficulty in setting aside a large block of time for an in-class program. The self-study method is ideal for previously licensed agents from other state seeking a Florida license; a Florida life agent seeking a health license, or vice versa. Self-study programs also eliminate the need to commute to and from class — allowing the student to devote that time to studying rather than driving.

Top of Page

What is the cost for the self-study program?

The price for City College’s on-line self-study program is now just $159. printed study material is available for $29 plus $5 shipping.

Top of Page

How soon can I start?

You can enroll in City College’s self-study program by completing the simple enrollment form. All study material is now online so you can begin imediately.

Your local library may have a copy of the study manual: Florida Life, Health and Variable Annuity Study Manual (Dearborn Financial Publishing). Manuals are also distributed statewide by members of FAIFA. Study manuals are not required since all material is now online.

It’s as simple as that!!

Top of Page

What is City College's refund policy?
10 day Refund Period — If in the first 10 days after enrollment, a student wishes to cancel the enrollment and return all study materials in usable condition, a full refund will be made for tuition and study materials (less a 10% cancellation charge).

Tuition, study materials, shipping and handling are not refundable after the initial 10 day refund period. Call City College at (954) 764-0254 if you wish to arrange a cancellation and refund.

Top of Page

 

RECIPROCITY LIST FOR RESIDENT LICENSURE FOR APPLICANTS REQUESTING WAIVER OF PRELICENSING COURSE WHEN APPLYING FOR RESIDENT LIFE, VARIABLE ANNUITY AND HEALTH


The 1992 Florida legislature enacted legislation which permits an applicant for licensure as a Florida resident life and variable annuity and/or health agent to exempt Florida's 40-hour prelicensing educational requirement if, within the four (4) year period prior to filing their application for resident license, the applicant held a resident license in life and variable annuity and/or health insurance in another state. Please refer to Sections 626.7851(3) and 626.8311(3), Florida Statutes.

In order to qualify for this exemption, the applicant's former state of residence must be willing to grant reciprocal treatment to licensees formerly licensed in Florida. This statute applies only to life and variable annuity and/or health insurance agents. It does not apply to applicants requesting licensure for property and casualty insurance.


STATES WITH FULL RECIPROCITY

Alaska Minnesota
Arizona Mississippi
Colorado Missouri
California Nebraska
Connecticut New Jersey
Delaware North Carolina
Idaho Ohio
Indiana Oklahoma
Iowa Pennsylvania
Illinois South Dakota
Kansas Utah
Michigan Wyoming

 


STATES WITH NO RECIPROCITY

The following states cannot waive the prelicensing requirement. Applicants applying for resident licensure must comply with Florida's prelicensing requirements.

Arkansas Tennessee
Georgia West Virginia
Kentucky Wisconsin
Louisiana South Carolina
District of Columbia (DC) New Mexico
Hawaii New York

 


STATES WITH CONDITIONAL RECIPROCITY

Alabama Montana
North Dakota
The applicant's license application for resident life, variable annuity and health agent in Florida must be received within 12 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence
Rhode Island Texas
Vermont
The applicant's license application for resident life, variable annuity and health agent in Florida must be received within 24 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence.
Virginia The license application for resident life, variable annuity and health insurance agent in Florida must be received within 12 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence; and the Virginia license must have been held for (1) year. Documentation of one year of licensure in Virginia must accompany the Florida application.
Washington The license application for resident life, variable annuity and health insurance agent must be received within 90 days of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence. The Washington license must have been held for at least (2) years.
Maryland Massachusetts The license application for resident life, variable annuity and health insurance agent must be received within 3 years of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence
Nevada The license applicant must have been licensed as an agent for the type and class applied for in 10 of the last 15 years, or has been employed by an insurer for at least 10 years.
New Hampshire The license applicant must have been licensed for the type and class applied for in 3 out of the last 5 years preceding the application for resident licensure.
Oregon The license applicant must have held an active license for the type and class applied for, for a period of 3 years, ending within 2 years of the date of application to Florida.

 

OK, I am ready, sign me up.

Is there a state exam outline to help me review?
Yes, Please click on the following link to access your outline: (Adobe Acrobat Reader required) STATE EXAM OUTLINES LINK
 

Title Fees Questions Time
Florida Agent’s Life Insurance and
Annuity (including Variable Contracts)
Aplication: $50
Fingerprint: $50.30
Exam: $42
License Card: $5
85 scored questions plus 15 pretest questions 2 hrs.
Florida Agent’s Health and Life
Insurance and Annuity (including
Variable Contracts)
Aplication: $50
Fingerprint: $50.30
Exam: $42
License Card: $5
150 scored questions plus 15 pretest questions 2.75 hrs.
Florida Agent’s Health Insurance Aplication: $50
Fingerprint: $50.30
Exam: $42
License Card: $5
85 scored questions plus 15 pretest questions 2 hrs.
Florida Examination for
Variable Insurance
Contracts
Aplication: $50
Fingerprint: $50.30
Exam: $42
License Card: $5
40 scored questions plus 5 pretest questions 1 hr

 

Top of Page

 



Copyright © 2000-2014
Wall Street Instructors, Inc. 
All rights reserved.
Web site design by: One to One, LLP

Terms of Use

Phone: (954) 764-0254
Fax: (305) 296-7743